Selecting an area

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Selecting an area

I have recently purchased ultimate 10. I am still learning but I have gone through all the videos and tutorials and I think I have a reasonably good grasp of what to do. There is one area that I have not been able to use properly and that is selections.

I have read through the tutorials and the help screens and I can select an area ok. I then want to make adjustments to only the area that has been selected but no matter what I do or what selection tool I have used, any adjustments that I apply affect the whole image and not just the selected area.

I am doing the selections in edit mode and I can clearly see the area that I have selected. Am I missing an important step or am I doing something wrong?
    I have tried every night for the last week and used different images but can not get it to work.

Can anyone offer me some advice to get the selections to work.

Thanks, John

Hmmm! I've not had that problem. The only thing I can think of is that you are doing the selection at the wrong time. If I want to select an area for exposure adjustment, then I first go into exposure, and select smart brush, and make my selection, then adjusting the exposure will affect only the selection. That smart brush tool that lies outside the regular selection seems reserved for the layers tool.

Comment

The fact is that it will be so if you use adjustment layers with the selection area. If you select an adjustment from the "edit" menu, the change will only apply to the selected area. In the adjustment layers, you need to invert the mask and draw in the selected area.

Comment

Thanks Glen and Denis.

I have tried using the selection tools (not just the smart brush) and the problems occurs in edit and develop mode.
        I have been selecting the type of adjustment first before selecting the area.