Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Automatically applying preset in Develop mode

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Automatically applying preset in Develop mode

    Hi all,

    I'm fairly new to digital photography and am currently evaluating multiple programs for development and management of my steadily growing collection of RAW files. So far, ACDSee (I'm using Ultimate 2018) comes quite close to match my workflow and needs, but there are a few thoughts left.

    I was wondering, since whenever I open a RAW file in development, is it possible to have a preset of my choice applied to the photo - if there has been no development settings made yet? I have seen that once I open a virgin RAW file, a little bit of sharpening is already applied by default and I can choose to have lense corrections be done automatically.

    I found the possibility to apply a preset in batch mode to multiple pictures in my collection, but that a) does take a very long time (ACDSee then pre-develops all those pictures?) and b) does not take into account whether I have made concurrent settings already.

    Right now, I have saved a preset with all my "default" corrections (like sharpness, NR, CA removal) and once I enter Develop mode, I apply it manually. This is a step I'd like to automate, when the file is "virgin". Is this possible?

    Cheers,
    Janto

  • #2
    Hello,
    You can apply your preset in the manage mode on selected picture(s). Look at screenshot.

    Alaric (French)

    Comment


    • #3
      Hi,

      thanks for your answer. But when I do that, ACDSee will develop all pictures that the preset was applied to in the background and place resulting JPG files in the [Develop] folder within the original picture's folder. That does not only massively slow down my workstation, but also will fill my hard drive with possibly unneeded byte. I don't want to export all of those pictures in JPG.

      I think for now I have to stay with manually applying the preset after opening the picture in Develop mode. From my observation, this will not trigger an implicit development of the picture.

      Cheers,
      Janto

      Comment


      • #4
        Acdsee always places jpeg files into the [developed] folder when raws are developed... When you develop a raw in Develop mode, Acdsee makes a copy (jpeg) and places it into the [developed] folder.

        Edit : Anyway, in Develop mode, you can select your pictures : rightclick > apply your preset... The result will be the same.
        Last edited by Alaric; 10-01-2017, 03:48 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          This option may address one of the preferences...
          Options > File Management > Save Originals > [checkbox]
          ​"Save a copy of the original file when an image is editing using one of the batch editing tools"

          Comment


          • #6
            Back on to presets....
            ​Some of the ACD adjustment settings can have their default values reset

            Gear Icon > Save New Defaults

            The limited set includes:
            Tune : General
            Tune: Color EQ
            ​Tune: Tone Curves
            ​Detail: Sharpening
            Detail: Noise Reduction
            ​Detail: Skin Tune

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by GusPanella View Post
              This option may address one of the preferences...
              Options > File Management > Save Originals > [checkbox]
              ​"Save a copy of the original file when an image is editing using one of the batch editing tools"
              Thanks for the reminder, I didn't know it... All the same, there is something strange in this choice. When you apply a preset on ONE picture, Acdsee always copies the jpg into [Developed] folder; when you apply the same preset on TWO (or more) pictures (if you have unchecked the value in the preferences) jpg files are not copied. However, Janto should be ...

              Alaric (French)

              Comment


              • #8
                I do agree there are a few things that are operationally strange or inconsistent in this process. (and a couple others)

                ACD has lots of settings, I find them difficult to find/remember because they don't seem to always make logical sense.. I like the general direction of the program, but wish for a better forward looking strategy.


                Comment


                • #9
                  Gus,

                  thank you. Exactly what I was looking for. If now that option would be consistently available across all the tools :-) But on the other hand, this is well enough.

                  Cheers,
                  Janto

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by GusPanella View Post
                    This option may address one of the preferences...
                    Options > File Management > Save Originals > [checkbox]
                    ​"Save a copy of the original file when an image is editing using one of the batch editing tools"
                    It does not seem to be working in Ultimate 2018...

                    Alaric (French)

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      I can't double check right now as I have to re-catalog my files (not happy).... FWIW, the directory where the original is stored is --hidden--. The name of the directory is named [original].

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by GusPanella View Post
                        the directory where the original is stored is --hidden--. The name of the directory is named [original].
                        Yes, I know that. I have done many tests with Ultimate 2018, with different files. I don't understand nothing. Checked or not the option, the result is uncertain... Now it works, now it does not work. Now files are always saved into [Fichiers originaux] (french) now these files are never saved. Really, I don't understand. This will quickly confuse you and rapidly send you crazy... or have I missed something ?...

                        Alaric (French)

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          At least, I have understood (I think ). This option only works with non-raw files, and it's useful when I choose to delete original file, after I have applied one of the batch tools. I tried it, with a « tif », it works. But with a raw file, after applying a develop preset, no result.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            I have been confused by the operation in the past, but have never really tried to understand the details. I have always been more worried about how to get rid of the files in the hidden directories. In some ways, the application seems to try to hard to protect me from myself.

                            ​I will try some other experiments over the next week and we can compare notes.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Thank you for your feedback.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X