Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Beginner RAW Question: Results are PERFECT in View modes, but how do I save those?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner RAW Question: Results are PERFECT in View modes, but how do I save those?

First post here, long time ACDSee user (for JPGs), but just getting into RAW development...

I've been wrestling with this for a few days, searched the web for answers, tried 3 other RAW programs to compare, and now I'm stumped. So, I figured it was time to ask in the forums.

I started shooting in JPG+RAW this past year to see if I could coax a bit more detail from my "keepers" captured during my travels. I finally got time this holiday to mess with the RAWs and have been struggling to get anything resembling the JPGs or the RAWs shown in Quick View / View modes.

Web searches seem to suggest Quick View / View just displays a version of the embedded JPG, but I don't believe that to be true. In ACDSee View modes, JPGs from all my cameras are not as sharp as the RAWs. In fact, the RAWs in View mode are perfect. Exposure is spot on, and the details are incredible compared to JPGs. So, I guess my question here is how do I save what I am seeing on the screen. I want the gorgeous RAWs shown on the screen in View mode, not my slightly smudged and less detailed JPGs.

The following currently applies to ACDSee Pro/Ultimate version 9 (and 8):
    • Quick View mode does not allow saves.
    • View mode allows saving/export, but removes all the auto corrections from the View modes, and the resulting image looks terrible (no lens correction, blurry, drab color)
    • In Develop and Edit modes I can gain some improvement, but still nothing like the RAWs in View mode

I tried a few other RAW editors and got mixed results...
    • DXO Optics Pro 10 Elite - used "DXO Standard" mode with camera and lens profile from their DB. Color and sharpness were closer than the original JPG, but distortion was still present.