Advanced File Rename - Regex based

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advanced File Rename - Regex based

I am new to ACDSee and just discovered the SDK. Before I go too far in investigating the capabilities of the API, I am hoping that someone can tell me if what I am hoping to accomplish can be done by a custom plugin.

Basically, I want to write a regex based (with capture groups) batch file rename. Currently, my files are named something like this: <string name>_yymm_<index>.jpg. String name is fixed for a batch of photos (example slide_batch30), yymm is year/month, and index is generated by the scanner I am using. I would like to write a plugin to re-arrange the elements of the file name... move yymm to be first. So, most likely the file name would become 1230_slide_batch30_123.jpg if it had been slide_batch30_1230_123.jpg.

I have associated ACDSee categories with these images, so don't want to lose that information, but want to write a batch rename to rename the files as described above. If I rename the files, will they lose their associated database records? Or, will that be preserved?

I would do this using a command line, but pretty sure that the images would lose the associated database records.

My advice.......NEVER rename any images processed by ACDSee with anything other than ACDSee itself. This practice is pretty much guaranteed to completely screw-up your images. I'll explain in detail later. Heading out, but will be back in a few hours. Stay tuned.

Comment

Originally posted by LV_Bill View Post
      My advice.......NEVER rename any images processed by ACDSee with anything other than ACDSee itself. This practice is pretty much guaranteed to completely screw-up your images. I'll explain in detail later. Heading out, but will be back in a few hours. Stay tuned.