Problem with keywords

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with keywords

Hi, I'm using the v5 trial version whilst I look at whether ACDSee Photo Studio for Mac can replace Phase One Media Pro, which I have been using in its various forms for 15 years. I have a big collection of 40k images, all tagged with hierarchical keywords which have been exported out to the metadata. digiKam reads these correctly (but has other flaws which means it's not right for me), so they see to be fine, but ACDSee doesn't. If you look at the properties pane of the image, all the keywords are there, but on the organise pane the keywords list is empty.

So the db doesn't seem to be scaning the library I have - which makes sense as it doesn't import in the way other DAMs do. And because it doesn't properly recognise that each image actually is keyworded, it won't find the keywords pics when you do a search.

As there are 40k images, there's no way I'm going to start keywording again from scratch.

Can anyone advise, please?

Also, one of the key benefits of Media Pro was its extensibility by scripting. So for example I had a script which allocated the current file name to a metadata field, so that when I changed the jpeg file name for long term saving I could keep a record of its original name so that I could more easily find the raw file if I wanted to re-edit later. Is that sort of scripting possible with ACDSee, or is there another way to retain original filenames?

All tips much appreciated.

Hi tsp1965,

Thank you for your feedback. I wasn't able to find a copy of the software you mention so I couldn't test the issue myself.
    Would it be possible for you to provide a sample photo?

Regarding your second question, yes, it's possible to allocate the current file name to a metadata field:

1) Select the image(s)
    2) Batch > Set Information...
    3) Select the "Destination" metadata field. For example, you could choose IPTC > Content > Title.