IPTC keywords, ACDsee keywords, general questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IPTC keywords, ACDsee keywords, general questions

Hello, I am new to ACDsee and try to find my way to best work with it and have some general questions:

1. I am used to drag a folder onto the Icon in my dock to quickly open it. This is very quick and I do not need to navigate through drives and folders. This works with Bridge, Lightroom, Graphic Converter etc., but not with ACDSee. What am I doing wrong, can this be changed?

2. trying to understand how ACDSee works, I replaced a photo that had ACDSee keywords with another file of the same name. ACDSee then treats the switched file as the former one, with the former keywords. It does not recognize that the file was changed. So ACDSee just stores the file's name and the location – is that so?

3. Is there a way to go both ways: add ACDSee keywords and additionally add the same keywords in the IPTC section so they can be read and sorted by other applications?
    I am trying to do it this way, because I need to move my files sometimes to other folders or disks, but do not want to loose the possibility to sort them by keywords.

... probably really beginner questions, so thank you for help and for any other tips on how to best work with it.
    *twotothree

Originally posted by twotothree View Post
    1. I am used to drag a folder onto the Icon in my dock to quickly open it. This is very quick and I do not need to navigate through drives and folders. This works with Bridge, Lightroom, Graphic Converter etc., but not with ACDSee. What am I doing wrong, can this be changed?
    This may be related to the handling of drag'dropped files/folders in explorer. If you drag'drop a file/folder with a name without any white space the explorer will not enclose it in double quotes. However, (for some reason unknown to me) newer versions of AC don't except paths without double quotes any more.