Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Minor Sorting Nit

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Minor Sorting Nit

    Depending on the folder, I have my images sorted by date taken or filename. If I export or save as to the same folder, the file drops to the bottom of the list. I can click the sort again and it pops back to where it's supposed to be, but I am still at the bottom. In a folder with a lot of files, this creates a lot of scrolling. Is there a work-around to this?

  • #2
    If I understand you correctly:
    If you have a RAW file named IMG_1234 and edit it in edit mode, I assume you then save it as a jpeg such as IMG_1234 edited.jpg in the same folder as the original. When you enter the Manage mode you will see the new jpeg image at the bottom of the thumbnails. Assuming the folder is sorted on file name, if you select a different folder then go back to the required folder you will find the jpeg next to the original RAW file. Re-displaying the folder refreshes its sort order. If sorted on date created then the jpeg will stay at the bottom of the thumbnails because it is the latest file created.
    Hope this helps, Dave.

    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks, Dave. Yeah, that is what I am finding. I have to refresh the sort by one of several different ways to get the image back where I want it. LR puts it in the correct sorted order as soon as you export, but it's only a click or three and still faster than doing the same operation in LR

      Comment


      • #4
        I realize this is a slightly old post, but I think there is still a problem. I understand the post by DCC, but If I have a folder sorted by name, and I edit a file preserving the same naming convention, I expect the thumbnail to be positioned appropriately. Yes, if I go back the the "Sort" function and select the same sort =already= in effect then the thumbnail will be positioned correctly, but that's a real nuisance -- especially if one is editing a significant number of images in a large set.

        This question may or may not be slightly off topic, but what is the effect of the "Refresh automatically" option in the top level "View" menu (i.e., in the menu bar for the application itself)? I tried to find that option in the "Help", but was unsuccessful. I have yet to download and search the "user guide" for Ultimate 2019, so there is still hope.

        Thanks.

        Comment

        Working...
        X