Albums, collections, collection set usage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Albums, collections, collection set usage

I am still new to ACDSee and have been focused on the DAM aspects so far. Cataloging and keywording and facial rec.
    The program has done a decent job of capturing all images in a high level folder with its subfolders.

I have 3 trips taken to Europe that involved many cities and towns in each. My folder structure has identified by day the towns visited took place as a hierarchy of folders. E.g France---Paris----Normandy----Caen... etc.

I am trying to understand what advantage if any to organize each trip as a separate Album (old term deprecated in 2020), Collection, or collection set. Why would I choose to create a collection or collection set?

In another thread user Steve wondered about the use of the image basket feature for collecting images as well.

so why are there features so similar in nature?
    Does anyone have advice on how to best approach dealing with the three trips?

1. Just stick with the organisation currently in the hierarchical folder structure using search criteria with keywords to gather files for post processing (When I get that far) . Or...

2. Use the collection(set) feature to organise for what ever purpose ( I.e. whatever that could not be that option 1 won't satisfy?

once this is resolved the intention will be to use DXO from within acdsee ultimate as the first step in a post processing workflow which I have yet to determine.

Any help here would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
    Garry
    Last edited by Big-Gee; 06-08-2020, 06:27 PM. Reason: Minor change

Everyone has their own process. This may not be right for you... but the following works for me.