Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Copy to file

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Copy to file

    Hi,
    I've just noticed that when I copy an image from one folder to another, the newly copied image location is automatically added to the catalogue from where it was copied.
    I then end up with two thumbnails of the same image, but in two different location on my hard drive.

    Is that normal behaviour ?
    Is there a way to "turn this off" ?

    I have searched the Help File, but nothing indicates that it would be possible.

    As always, Thanks,

  • #2
    Did you copy in Windows or within ACDSee? Doing it within the program itself is the best way to avoid anything like this.

    Comment


    • #3
      Always within ACDSee.
      I have learnt my lesson years ago...

      Comment


      • #4
        In that case, I'm not sure what to suggest. Can you provide screenshots? I moved an entire folder only two days ago, and I have no remnants of it left behind.

        Comment


        • #5
          I does not happen when you move.
          Only when copying from one location to another.

          You'll notice that these two images are identically but are in "Multiple Locations" as shown under File Information.

          Click image for larger version

Name:	2022-04-25.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	60459

          Comment


          • #6
            Well, if you copy, the copy and original files may have different future lives and be separately later edited, so this seems normal to have two thumbnails.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by bwest View Post
              I does not happen when you move.
              Only when copying from one location to another.
              When you move a file, it moves to the new location, and is no longer at the original location, so you only have one file.
              When you copy a file, the original stays at the original location and the copy goes to the new location, and you now have two files.
              Providing you've done the operation in ACDSee, in the case of the copy, ACDSee now has records for both the original, and the copy.

              Whilst the two files may at that point might be considered duplicates (although the Creation date will be different), as brajaq has stated, that may not be the case at some future point, if you subsequently make changes to either of the images.

              As I see it, ACDSee is doing exactly what it should.

              If you do the copy outside of ACDSee, for instance in Windows File Explorer, then ACDSee will only have the record for the original file, UNTIL at some later stage you access the folder the copy is in, in ACDSee, at which time it will make a database record for the copied file, BUT that record will not necessarily have all of the metadata - in particular it would not read in keywords unless you specifically include it in a Catalog operation.
              Last edited by Greyfox; 04-25-2022, 05:50 AM.

              Comment


              • #8
                You may want to exclude the source or the target folder from your db.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by Emil View Post
                  You may want to exclude the source or the target folder from your db.
                  That is an option, but If you exclude the source folder, then the database would not retain any entries for images in it, including all metadata (keywords, categories etc), so basically ACDSee would no longer be managing any images in the source folder.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Thanks for your replies.

                    Yes, I think it makes sense that ACDSee does add the new location when copying to file.

                    I guess I was hoping for a way to "turn this off".

                    My photo's from the mobile phone is recorded in jpg-format, and I prefer to convert to tiff for the final image for archiving.

                    Some photo's are then selected to be included in a PowerPoint Album, where I prefer to use jpg-format to keep the size down.

                    Anyway, I guess I will use Windows Explorer to copy the selected images for my album's to a folder and then convert to jpg.

                    Thanks for you help.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Don't know if I really got it.
                      1. You start with a JPEG from your mobile phone and mange it with AC
                      2. You edit it and save the edited file as TIFF and also manage this variant with AC too?
                      3. In the end you convert your TIFF into JPEG again to add it to your presentation
                      Which image don't you want to be added to the database?
                      If it's the JPEG at step 3, use the export dialogue (CTRL-ALT-E). It has an option to exclude the exported files from the db.

                      Perhaps I'm wrong, as there's no copy routine in the workflow.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Yes, that is basically what I am doing.
                        I know it does not make sense, but it works for me :-)
                        After I have edited and applied keywords, I convert to tiff for archival purpose.
                        Later - it may be months later, when I create PDF-albums I convert back to jpg for size.
                        The size of the finished album is much smaller with jpg than with tiff.

                        The CTRL-ALT-E is what I was looking for.

                        Thank you again,

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X