questions from a new user

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• questions from a new user

Hello. I'm a Picasa user, trying out ACDSee for the first time. I've spent a few hours with it, customizing it so that it's similar to how I use Picasa, but there are a few things that are preventing me from liking ACDSee:
    • Sometimes, the first image I try to open in a folder takes 2 seconds or more, even when "Instant image preview" is on. (it's even worse when off) I can't figure out what causes the delay, and why it's not consistent. These photos are on an SSD and I have a good CPU and have plenty of free RAM, so those aren't the problem. And Picasa doesn't have that delay. Is there a setting that can reduce the delay?
    • Keywords. I'm used to the way Picasa handles keywords. I'm just learning about IPTC keywords now, which I believe Picasa uses, while I think ACDSee uses its own metadata, stored in its own db. Is there a way for ACDSee's "Keywords" pane to show me the IPTC keywords, instead of the ACDSee keywords? I see the IPTC keywords in the metadata pane (in a tiny box; not ideal. Even if I click the ellipsis, I have to click Edit List before I can type in a new keyword.), but I want to see them in the Keywords pane. All of my thousands of photos have IPTC keywords, so if ACDSee can't be configured to show me those keywords in the Keywords pane, that could be a deal-breaker.