Face detection crashes whole computer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Face detection crashes whole computer

I am new to ACDSee, and I have the issue that when I turn face detection on, ACDSee causes my whole PC to crash/restart. Not a slow dump or blue screen - literally like the power supply has failed.

Happens with Photo Studio 2021 Home/Pro and Ultimate, and 2022 Ultimate (at least those are the ones I've tested).

I have logged a ticket with Support and they've worked with me to debug, but now we're at "well if you can’t generate a dump we can’t do much". This is after they agree that the issue is 100% linked to ACDSee face detection.

I have (together with support) pushed my CPU/memory/disk way beyond what face detection does to see if that makes the hardware fail, but is does not. So while nothing is off the table until the issue is found, it does not appear to be hardware.

I have tried using local accounts (vs MicrosoftAccount) - no difference.

I have tried excluding USB/remote storage (everything saved on local C drive) - makes no difference.

I have uninstalled (several times incl manual and utility cleanup, which and without support on the line) - made no difference.

Reset (and move around to different locations) the ACDSee database - made no difference

Tested is check if the issue is linked to file formats (jpg, HEIC, raw) - happens for all formats.

Anybody else seeing this?

Any ideas?

Originally posted by burfot View Post
    ...Anybody else seeing this?
    Any ideas?
    I cannot say whether there is anyone else with the same or a similar problem.
    What I can say is that I use face Identification extensively in Ultimate 2022, have done so since its release last year, and it is working well.

In terms of offering any suggestions, I'm not sure what your current situation is with ACDSee Support.